Jul 20

Multan NA 151By-Election Result 2012 – Abdul Qadir Gilani wins

Dismissed PM Yousaf Gilani’s son Abdul Qadir Gilani wins against independent candidate.abdul qadir gilani zardar

According to the unofficial results Abdul Qadir Gilani bagged 64,628 votes and Shoukat Hayat Boson got 60,532 votes.

Shoukat Hayat Boson was an independent candidate but he enjoyed the support of PML-N, PTI and Jamaat-e-Islami.

All eyes were focused today on Multan NA-151 elections, as its result could determine the future political trends in the country.

NA-151 seat was vacated after the Supreme Court of Pakistan disqualified former PM Syed Yousaf Raza Gilani.

It was virtually a contest between PPP on the one side and all political forces on the other.

The main candidates were the former prime minister’s son Abdul Qadir Gilani who represented Pakistan People’s Party and Shaukat Hayat Khan Bosan, who enjoyed the informal support of both Pakistan Muslim League-N, JI Pakistan and Pakistan Tehrik-i-Insaaf.

PTI President Javed Hashmi and Vice Chairman Shah Mehmood Qureshi also used their influence in the favour of the independent candidate Bosan.

Other candidates contesting the by-election were Abdul Mateen Qureshi, Dr Aleem Chaudhry, Mehr Ghulam Shabbir Sial, Shehla Shaheen Advocate, Muhammad Husnain Khan Bosan, Muhammad Amil Yousuf Jutt, Muhammad Abbas and Nawaz Muhammad Iqbal Khan.

The seat fell vacant when the former prime minister, Yousuf Raza Gilani was declared disqualified by the Supreme Court of Pakistan.

Jul 19

Multan by-polls: Vote count underway in NA-151

Multan: Votes are being counted after the day-long polling ended for the by-poll in National Assembly constituency NA-151 Multan 4 at 5pm.Multan Poll

Violation of the Election Commission of Pakistan’s (ECP) new code of conduct was scene while few incidents of clash between the voters were also reported during the polling.

The voting was begun amid tight security at 8am in which about 308,871 voters decided the political fortunes of 10 candidates in the constituency, vacated due to the disqualification of former Prime Minister Yousaf Raza Gilani.

Pakistan People’s Party’s candidate Abdul Qadir Gilani, the son of the disqualified premier, and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s (PML-N) Shaokat Hayat Bosan are the strong candidates.

However, the Election Commission has made elaborate measures and also arranged transport facility for the voters for the first time in the history of the country but the candidates were scene using their own transport to bring voters to the polling stations.

Moreover, the candidates also violated the ECP’s code of conduct and also set up their camps near the polling stations.