Feb 25

By-election: Polling begins on 10 NA, PA seats

Polling on six National Assembly and four Provincial Assembly seats continues.

Polling for by-election started at 8:00am in six constituencies of the National Assembly and four constituencies of the provincial assemblies including Multan, Rahim Yar Khan, Vehari and Kasur for the NA seats and in Badin, Tando Muhammad Khan, Attock and Mianwali for PA seats.

Seven candidates are contesting in NA-9 Mardan-I while the main contenders are Himayatullah, who is joint candidate of PPP and ANP, and Shuja-ul-Mulk of JUI-F. This seat was vacated by Khawaja Muhammad Hoti who has joined PTI.
Sardar Sarwar Dogar of PPP and 15 independent candidates are contesting in NA-140 Kasur-III which was vacated by Sardar Asif Ahmad Ali who joined Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf.

There are 19 candidates in NA-148 Multan-I but the real competition is between Abdul Ghaffar Dogar of PML-N and PM Gilani’s son, Musa Gilani of PPP. The seat was vacated by Makhdoom Shah Mehmood Qureshi who resigned and joined PTI.

Nine candidates are in the arena in NA-149 Multan-II but the main contestants are Tariq Rashid of PML-N and Liquat Dogar of PPP. The seat was vacated after resignation of Makhdoom Javed Hashmi.

Eight candidates are contesting in NA-168 Vehari-II, including Bilal Akbar Bhatti of PML-N and Nitasha Daultana of PPP and six independent candidates. The seat fell vacant after the tragic death of PPP’s MNA Azeem Daultana in a road accident.

Meanwhile, bye election is also being held in four provincial constituencies including two in Punjab and two others in Sindh.

Eight candidates are contesting in PP-18 Attock-IV but main contenders are Malik Azam Ghaiba of PML-N, Malik Sameen Khan of PPP and independent candidate Malik Amanat Ali Khan.

Five candidates are competing in PP-44 Mianwali-II but the main contenders are Adil Abdullah Rokhri of PML-N, Sardar Bahadur Khan of PPP and independent candidate Malik Tariq Mehmood Kand.

The Sindh Assembly vacant seats include PS-53 Tando Muhammad Khan-cum-Hyderabad and PS-57 Badin-I (Old Badin-III).

The polling will conclude at 5:00pm.