Aug 29

Pakistan premier forms committee for Afia Siddiqui’s release

Islamabad: Pakistan Prime Minister Raja Pervaiz Ashraf on Tuesday formed a four members committee for the release of Dr Afia Siddiqui, who is serving jail term in US.Dr Afia Siddiqui

Sources said that the four members committee headed by Foreign Minister Hina Rabbani Khar includes two members from interior and law ministries and one from Human rights.

Siddiqui is an American-educated Pakistani cognitive neuroscientist. She convicted in US federal court for assault with intent to murder her US interrogators in Afghanistan – charges that carried a maximum sentence of life in prison. Siddiqui was ultimately sentenced by a United States district court to 86 years in prison in a trial that critics have called “a grave miscarriage of justice”.

Jun 22

Raja Pervaiz Ashraf sworn in as 25th Prime Minister of Pakistan

ISLAMABAD: Newly elected Prime Minister of Pakistan Raja Pervaiz Ashraf sworn in as 25th Prime Minister of Pakistan here on Friday, Geo News reported.Raja Pervaiz Ashraf

President Asif Ali Zardari administered oath to the new prime minister in Presidency.

Leaders of the ruling coalition, services chiefs, and other distinguished guests were also present on the auspicious occasion.

Jun 22

Raja Pervaiz Ashraf New Elected Prime Minister of Pakistan

ISLAMABAD: The coalition partners have, at a meeting chaired by President Asif Ali Zardari, authorized Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) to nominate the next prime minister whose name will be announced officially at 11:00 AM Friday, Geo News reported Thursday.Raja Pervaiz Ashraf New Elected Prime Minister of Pakistan

However, according to sources, President Asif Ali Zardari took the coalition partners into confidence over his decision to nominate Raja Pervaiz Ashraf as PPP’s candidate for the post of prime minister who will be elected by the Lower House on Friday.

During the meeting, the allies of PPP-led government unanimously approved the name of Raja Pervaiz Ashraf for the coveted post of prime minister, sources added.

According to presidential spokesman Farhatullah Babar, the allied partners during the meeting pledged their support for the PPP candidate whose name will be formally announced by the party at 11:00 AM tomorrow.

The meeting was attended among others by Pakistan Muslim League-Q President Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain, Chaudhry Pervez Elahi, Muttahida Qaumi Movement’s Dr Farooq Sattar, Babar Khan Ghauri, Awami National Party’s Afrasyab Khattak, Israr Zehri, Munir Khan Orakzai, PPP’s Khursheed Shah, Manzoor Wattoo and Naveed Qamar.

Nominated Prime Minister of Pakistan:

After the official disqualification of Yousuf Raza Gilani on June 19, the allied parties nominated Qamar Zaman Kaira, Makhdoom Shahabuddin, Chaudhry Mukhtar Ahmed and Raja Pervaiz Ashraf for the position of PM.

However, the allied parties unanimously nominated Ashraf as the new prime minister of Pakistan.

The lower house of parliament has been summoned to vote in the new prime minister at 5:30 pm on Friday which will decide Ashraf’s fate as the PM.